cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How can we read/write using SPI

ANaud.1
Associate II

Hi,

I don't really understand the datasheet of the ST25R3916 IC chip.

At page 53, they show an exemple of a direct write command. As I understand, we need to send 1-1-C5-C4-C3-C2-C1-C0. When I check table 13 to see the command code that go for bits C5..C0, the hexa is something like C1 = 11000001. There is 8 bits on the command code and on page 53 they only send 6 bits. I am confused...

Same thing to read a register for example. We need to send 0-1- the register address. There is no register that are 6 bits long, so how can I write my SPI package?

Sorry if it is not clear, english is not my first language and I am still learning SPI communication, so it may seems easy, but I still don't get it :(

Thanks for any clarification.

Antoine

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Brian TIDAL
ST Employee

Hi Antoine,

thanks for using ST25R3916 IC.

For you information, ST provides some firmware packages for the ST3916. This includes an NFC communication stack, full functional examples over SPI and low layer drivers. See The ST25 Embedded NFC library.

Regarding your initial question, the direct commands values in table 13 of the ST25R3916 datasheet include the heading 11b. This simplifies the reading of logic analyzer traces as we have the direct value of the byte being sent.

For example, here is the sending of Set default (C1h) command on SPI

0693W00000D0xD1QAJ.jpgRgds

BT

In order to give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on Accept as Solution on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20
ben_hw_sw
Associate II

Hi Antoine,

If you do not understand how works registers/direct command you can check HydraNFC v2 Shield guide (it use a st25r3916)

All is explained with example to read/write registers in Space A, Space B or send direct command over spi

Regards,