cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginners question: IHM01A1 + Stepper - What am I doing wrong

MDaub.1
Associate III

I am an owner of the STEVAL-EDUKIT, an inverted pendulum kit by ST with an NUCLEO-F401RE, IHM01A1, Nema17 motor and an rotary encoder + a 2A, 12V power supply. I have no prior experience with motor control whatsoever. See https://www.st.com/content/st_com/en/products/evaluation-tools/solution-evaluation-tools/motor-control-solution-eval-boards/stepper-motors/steval-edukit01.html for a picture how the whole apparatus looks like when assembled.

The provided demo firmware works well and I am studying the source code. I now want to achieve a swing-up of the pendulum from the down position and basically what I want to do is to have the motor do a 1/4 turn with high speed/torque/power. During experimentation I saw that turning the tower with my hand for 120 degrees in a quick flick, the pendulum gets enough energy to swing up. So I now want to try to mimic this with a one shot quick, forceful motor movement.

Basically I am trying to do this:

BSP_MotorControl_SetNbDevices(BSP_MOTOR_CONTROL_BOARD_ID_L6474, 1);

BSP_MotorControl_Init(BSP_MOTOR_CONTROL_BOARD_ID_L6474, &gL6474InitParams_SwingUp);

BSP_MotorControl_Move(0, FORWARD, 90);
BSP_MotorControl_WaitWhileActive(0);

// Hold it
while (true);

I noticed that no matter what I tried for BSP_MotorControl_SetMinSpeed, BSP_MotorControl_SetMaxSpeed, BSP_MotorControl_SetAcceleration, etc.. it had very little effect on the actual movement. Then I recognized that apparently it's the step size which was stopping me from fast turns. It was set to 1/16 in the init structure.

L6474_Init_t gL6474InitParams_SwingUp =
{
    80,                               /// Acceleration rate in step/s2. Range: (0..+inf).
    80,                               /// Deceleration rate in step/s2. Range: (0..+inf).
    160,                              /// Maximum speed in step/s. Range: (30..10000].