cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

For VL53L1. What is the difference between Autonomous mode (configured without filters) and Ranging mode?

VNava
Associate III

Hi!

My name is Vincenzo.

I studied the ToF sensors VL53L3CX and VL53L1X. A few days ago I decided to study the VL53L1. From a first overview, this sensor seems to possess the main characteristics of both ToFs that I mentioned earlier: VL53L3CX (Multi-object detection, Ranging mode with "handshake" management for better synchronization) and VL53L1X (Autonomous mode without handshake management, criteria are used to choose when to wake the host, programmable ROI), plus other features of their own.

If I understand correctly, the VL53L1 allows me to choose between several working modes:

Autonomous (like VL53L1X);

Ranging mode (like VL53L3CX);

Scanning mode (similar to your 2D LIDAR application with VL53L1X applying the multi zone strategy) .

Studying the VL53L1 I realized I was not clear about one thing.

Which is the difference between Autonomous mode configured without filters and Ranging mode.

The first answer that comes to my mind is: handshake management.

In fact, if I'm not mistaken, handshake management is required for Ranging mode and not for Autonomous, but if I consider the driver functions to be used both in the first case (Autonomous mode without filters) and in the second case (Ranging mode) I don't notice any differences.

For this reason,

Is it possible that Autonomous mode without filters and Ranging mode are the same thing?

I say this because, if I configure Autonomous mode without filters, every measurement made is available and therefore an interrupt will always be raised and I will always wake up the host, and this seems the Ranging mode scenario.