cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie struggling with .c .h and linking

BrianWhite
Associate II

Hello all

I'm a hobbyist with experience as a java programmer and with simple embedded C and C++ experience who's working on a project for the Elektor Magazine STM32 contest and I'm finding myself in over my head and I'm wondering if any of you might be able to point me in the right direction.

I'm building up a project that uses several of the capabilities of the STM32WB5MM-DK board that I'm working with. I decided to built it up step by step so I can understand what I'm doing.

I began with a project that just reads the temperature sensor and outputs the data on the USART1 serial terminal. This was my first success. The next thing I'd like to add is the ability to use the RGB LED. I see that code is in stm32wb5mm_dk.c in one of the demo projects. So I put a copy of stm32wb5mm_dk.c into Core/Src and I put the corresponding .h file in Core/Inc. Since both Core/Src and Core/Inc already contain files that are part of the project, I assumed that I didn't need to change the build settings. Was this wrong?

I was not able to call functions in the stm32wb5mm_dk.c file until I added #include "stm32wb5mm_dk.h" to main.c but then the related errors in main.c disappeared. I have a feeling that this isn't the right way to do this. Is there a better way to get access to those functions?