cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LCD on STM32F4 Discovery

fullcaos
Associate II
Posted on October 10, 2012 at 15:23

Hi, I recently started programming microcontrollers STM32F4, I tried an example to control an LCD screen, there are on the net? can you give me directions?

#lcd-stm32f4discovery #stm32f4-hd44780 #interface-anything-to-anything
20 REPLIES 20
Posted on October 31, 2012 at 01:42

On the scale of complexity these 16 x 2 displays are relatively simple.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
orn
Associate II
Posted on October 31, 2012 at 02:11

Hi Clive and thank you for your advice, looking at the datasheet of various LCD I realized that I have to set and reset the bit with the precise time (in milli seconds) but I do not know how to get a delay function that will give me a delay in milli seconds, can you give me a helping hand?

for example:

GPIO_WriteBit(GPIOx,PIN,Bit_SET);
Delay(100);
GPIO_WriteBit(GPIOx,PIN,Bit_RESET);

how can I build a delay function that loses exactly 100 milli seconds? I have thought of such a thing: while(Ncoun){ Ncoun--; } but how can I calculate the bond that exists between time and nCount?
orn
Associate II
Posted on October 31, 2012 at 10:14

Clive, I'm sorry, you had me already answered a question like that, you have given me a solution to the problem of the delay, but I had forgotten since then I have not applied the solution to my previous project!

the solution was

: ''

there should be a

y = mx + c

type relationship with the core clock''

you told me c is the call/setup/return overhead.but how to calculate C? for every person who has the same problem I found with the use of the scope this report, which I have yet to see well with the theory ...

void Delay(__IO uint32_t time)
{

/*Delay is in milliseconds*/

time=time*42000; 
while(time--)
{
}
}
with these parameters of clock:
* SYSCLK(Hz) | 168000000