cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F407VET6 USB advice :)

russdx
Associate II
Posted on August 20, 2012 at 12:04

I have just bought a Core407V STM32F407VET6 STM32 ARM Cortex-M4 Development Board

I want to use it to send data from my pc to the STM32 around 2048bytes 60 times a second.

Im a bit confused what type of USB library i should be using HID or OTG or some other library? I basically just need bulk transfer.

Would some one be able to point me in the right direction please 🙂

Thank you 🙂

12 REPLIES 12
sreejaya
Associate II
Posted on August 28, 2012 at 12:22

Hi,

I have recently purchase STM32F4 Discovery board and I am trying to make the VCP work so that I could streamed ADC data to the PC. I downloaded the firmware code from the link you had posted in the previous thread and tried to understand how things work. I am very new to USB programming and the  STM environment. These are the following things that I have tried:

1) I am using Keil uvision4 to debug my program.

2) I downloaded STM324xG-EVAL_USBD-FS project onto my board. I have not made any changes in the code. I understand that the LCD functionality is enabled in this project but for the time being I have not altered anything as I just want to check if the VCP works. 

3) I have installed the VCP_V1.3.1 driver in my PC running Windows7

4) When I debugg the code, after executing USB_OTG_CoreInitDev(pdev) in usb_dcd.c the host says that installation failed.

5) When I checked the device properties the host lists the device as unknown device. Presuming that this could be because the device driver installed in the host has some problem I tried to manually assign the virtual com port driver to the device. Unfortunately I cannot find it listed in the list of device driver the system shows. What could be the problem? is it the firmware code or the driver?