cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

USBD_HAL_SendReport results in data shifted after operating normally for an extended duration. What might cause such a problem?

RobK
Associate

Let me preface this by saying I'm a novice when it comes to programming for MCUs. I made a keyboard using STM32F4 MCUs and in my code I create an 8 character data set for the keycodes to be sent to the computer. I created the project using the STMCubeIDE software selecting the USB HID device option and then I updated the USB HID descriptor to a keyboard (changed descriptor to a keyboard in usbd_hid.c and changed the descriptor length to match in usbd_hid.h). In my code I repeatedly update the 8 character data set and send it to the computer using USBD_HID_SendReport. The keyboard works without any issue for a long time but, after a while, the data the computer receives will have the keycode characters shifted over by 4 characters (the keycode character that should be in the first location of the data set is moved to the fourth location; other keycodes are also shifted by 4 characters). If I check in the debugger the data being sent with USBD_HID_SendReport is as expected when the error is occurring (source data has all characters in the correct location). Once the shift happens it is consistent with many data transfers all having the same shift. So, for example, if the data in the vector in the MCU is {0x20, 0x00, 0x10, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00} which are the keycodes for Shift + M then the data that the computer receives at the end of the USB transfer sequence is {0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x20, 0x00, 0x10, 0x00}. But this only happens after operating for some time and having already done many correct data transfers. Using wireshark I can see that the rest of the information the computer sees preceeding the 8 character data set is identical, just the last 8 characters are different. For quite a while the data the computer is receiving is fine after starting