cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F411VE - How to use one USB-A connector to read/write flash USB keys and to send/receive data with a PC

gdivella84
Associate II

Hello everybody,

I'm new to USB development then excuse me if my questions are trivial.

I have a board with the attached electric scheme (only USB section shown).

The application I want to realize must do, with the provided HW, the following:

• Read/Write data from/to a USB key
  • Send/receive data to/from a PC with a hyperterminal-like app

Reading here and there over the web I learnt that the former needs my MCU to be configured as a USB HOST MSC, and the latter as a USB DEVICE CDC.

First question: as I need to connect to a PC for serial logging, my configuration cannot be USB HOST CDC, but USB DEVICE CDC, correct?

Second question(s): suppose my HW cannot be modified at the moment. Is it possible to switch between HOST MSC / DEVICE CDC just by software routines? If yes, not being able to sense VBUS might be a problem? Should I power off my VBUS every time I switch from HOST to DEVICE ?

Please consider that the machine mounting this board must expose a type-A USB connector for user operations with USB keys. This, if I understood everything well, obliges me not to use the OTG functionalities for my purposes

Thank you very much

0690X000009Z0ixQAC.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

> First question: as I need to connect to a PC for serial logging, my configuration cannot be USB HOST CDC, but USB DEVICE CDC, correct?

Well, not necessarily. You can build a contraption with two CDC devices, cross-connected at the serial side, to connect to CDC hosts together. There are such "cables" around, enabling to connect two PCs, but the devices within require specific drivers (FT232 etc.). But if you want to solve your problem using a nonstandard-but-purchasible A-A cable, then yes, you need to do the host-to-device switch when you want to change role.