cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F103RBT6 migration from standalone application to one that integrate a bootloader

FF1
Associate III

Dear all,

I've finished my board and application around the L6480H stepper driver and cSPIN library, all is fine, but now I have to add at my application the boot loader feature in order to achieve the in-field firmware update possibility (attached a photo of my finished 4-layers board).

The question is rather long, I'm also new to the boot loader usage with the STM32 micro controller family, so I kindly ask you to have some patience in reading this.

Briefly, inside my board, I've a JTAG connector for the ST-Link/V2 debugger/programmer, a RS232 interface connected to the RX/TX pin of the micro controller and also the choice to use a local jumper to set the boot0 input to 0 (as actually) or to 1 to perform the boot from the embedded boot loader that, if I'm right, should work through the USART1 interface that on this micro controller is on the PA9 and PA10 pins. Also I've an incremental quadrature encoder interface, some opto-isolated input for proximity sensors and a EEPROM used to save some parameters at the board power off.

From the STM32F103RBT6 data sheet (DoclD13587 Rev 17) page 15/117, §2.3.8, is written:

"The boot loader is located in System Memory. It is used to reprogram the Flash memory by using USART1. For further details please refer to AN2606."

From AN2606 (August 2018 Rev 33), page 1/292 at the page bottom the note refers to the chapter 2 and from this the AN3155 was related to the USART protocol.

Inside the AN3155 (Rev 9), page 5/38, is written the starting sequence for the boot loader then: