cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Battery-powered STM32L4 Discovery kit (B-L475E-IOT01A) ST_LINK chip will not allow code to execute unless plugged into USB port.

PSche.4
Associate

Hello,

I've built a project with the B-L475E-IOT01A Discovery Kit that is intended to be a battery-powered stand-alone unit. I've wired it to be powered via the 5V Arduino header and set the 5V jumper appropriately. However, the unit will not start executing code from the microcontroller unless the USB for the ST_LINK is plugged in and enumerated on a PC. It kind of defeats the purpose of a battery-powered stand-alone unit. I have some experience with other ST discovery kits with a ST_LINK debugger/programmer on-board and all I've needed to do in the past was program the unit in "Release Mode" to get it to work without any interference from the ST_LINK chip. That doesn't work in this case- the MCU chip gets power, but seems to be held in reset or startup by the ST_LINK chip without the USB being plugged in. Any ideas?

-Paul

4 REPLIES 4
JWill.8
Associate III

I don't have this board nor do I know the particulars of how it works. I am trying to go after the low-hanging fruit here. In ST Micro Document UM2153 page 16 or so talks about 5V_VBAT and jumpers to pins 7 and 8 controlling the 5V Battery supply.

• Does this document UM2153 apply to your board?
  • Is page 16 of UM2153 relevant to your scenario?
  • If yes on previous question, have you considered applying the jumpers to pins 7 and 8? (Again I do not have this board so I don't know if this will damage anything or not)
  • If yes to previous question, please understand I am only trying to help and not be insulting and you can safely ignore this answer.

Reread your post. You already applied the jumper... sorry...

PSche.4
Associate

Thanks, JWill. I went and revisited the jumper on 7 and 8 (5V_VBAT). Having the jumper there vs. on the 5V_ARD jumper or unpopulated fixed it.