cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32F746DISCO USB CDC won't transmit from main.c file

SerialIterator
Associate

I followed This Youtube Video from ST  for setting up USB CDC in the hopes I can pass data from a sensor through to my PC for processing. The video demonstrated how to echo back messages in the `usbd_cdc_if.c` file which worked and I could send and receive the same message using Hercules SETUP serial port monitor. I can't seem to get CDC_Transmit_FS() to send data other than echoing messages back. I've read that it could cause a USB lock as the device needs to be queried by the host but then This Video shows sending data straight from the Main loop. I'm new to STM32 but I feel like Transmitting bytes over Serial shouldn't be this mysterious and there isn't much content online for this board. Any suggestions or experience with this issue is welcome and thanks. I haven't included any files as I get no errors and haven't a clue what would be useful to include

Configuration:

STM32F746DISCO

Windows 11

2 REPLIES 2
Andrew Neil
Evangelist III

@SerialIterator wrote:

I can't seem to get CDC_Transmit_FS() to send data other than echoing messages back.

Of course it should be possible.

You'll need to show what you tried for people to be able to comment.

What problem(s), exactly, did you encounter?

What debugging did you do to find the issues?

@SerialIterator wrote:

I'm new to STM32 :

Do you have experience with any other microcontroller(s)?

@SerialIterator wrote:

I feel like Transmitting bytes over Serial shouldn't be this mysterious 

But you're not just sending bytes over Serial; you're implementing USB - which is orders of magnitude more complicate than just a simple UART ...

What problem(s), exactly, did you encounter?