cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

iis3dwb sample losses problem

VSavenia
Associate III

Hi, I have been working with iis3dwb since 2020 and a week ago me and my colleague found something that looks like a design mistake from ST side, we found something like sample losses during FIFO buffering I am not sure but further I will try to provide as much info as possible to be understood. There will be a lot of details because the question isn’t easy.

Prehistory:

Me and my team designed a vibration sensor(further VTS) based on iis3dwb mems accelerometer (spoiler: it’s great, but…) and we are happy about it. Until recently we thought everything is ok and data reading is working as it should be, I did a lot of tests to see if we have some sample losses, I tested it on 8192 samples num for each axis due to internal uC memory limitations (and this amount was enough to calculate FFT and then acc RMS, velocity RMS… with required frequency dimension and accuracy). But this was the first step in production of VTS, then we installed 8MB RAM to store 1minute, 2 minute etc amount of RAW data to send it further to some “math processing unit�? and in these large files with raw data we found something that looks like sample losses.

A couple of remarks before we dive in:

1. For tests we are using vibration shaker TIRA TV51110, control system for the shaker and reference analogue sensor verified by laser method as a feedback sensor to provide high-quality tests.

0693W00000SuH3aQAF.png