cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting started with SPBTLE-RF

attemptx
Associate II

Hello,

my name is Clément and I am a student and new to STM. I have experience in programming 8 bit PIC microcontroller in C/MPLAB X and I also have worked with a BeagleBone Black and C++/Eclipse.

For a project I'd like to use a STM32 microcontroller with FreeRTOS and Bluetooth connectivity. Therefore I got myself a Nucleo64F401RE and a X-NUCLEO-IDB05A1. I prepared STM32CubeMX/TrueSTUDIO and I'm able to generate all the example projects offered. 

Nevertheless I have difficulties to get started with own programs. The given documentation is not detailed enough for me.

Here is what I would like to do:

I want to send data to the microcontroller via a smartphone. At first with a Bluetooth terminal app for testing. The SPBTLE-RF should be visible and connectable to all devices with a fixed password. Also I want to be able to change the name of the module as well as the password.

I have already read many guides from ST for the BLE1 Cube extension but I still doesn't fully understand the functionality of it. So far I think knowing that I can configure the module with the hci_/aci_ commands. But by including the header files into a project without an example application I always get tons of errors while compiling, for example that a file could not be fount whereas it is definetly there. I don't particularly like Eclipse and in my opinion a lot of things are awkward.

And I still haven't figured out how data are send or received (which functions are used?, DMA writes them somwhere?).

As I mentioned before I am new to this and hoped that I could find a good documentation how to use the generated functions and examples with code-snippets.

Thank you for any help in advance!

Clément

1 REPLY 1
attemptx
Associate II

For everyone coming by, searching for beginner answers, here are the steps I made to get into this BLE module.