cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using VL53L4CX with Jetson Nano running Ubuntu 20.4

nate_s
Associate II

Hello!

I have never used a Jetson Nano before and am rather unfamiliar with lower level programming. I have a VL53L4CX attached to the correct Jetson nano pins and can see the device when I run i2cdetect -r -y 1 at address 0x29. My question is whats next. I've done a lot of research online and have no idea how to incorporate this into an actual program that reads the distance detected by the sensor. The goal of the project is to attach 8 of these sensors to a MUX and then get data from all of them by changing i2c ports. I have seen posts referring to the linux driver, which I have downloaded but don't know how to install or use. I have a python program that sends bytes over i2c, is it as simple as sending a specific message over i2c and then reading a response? If so, what is that message?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
John E KVAM
ST Employee

If you are a Linux god (lower case) and you are fully capable of installing a driver into the Android or Linux operating system, then the Linux driver is for you. Generally you need this when you want to build a system where the users cannot access the I2C bus. Think what could happen if Cellphone apps could get hold of the EEPROMs in your cellphone. 

But if you have a RaspberryPi or a Jetson Nano and you are in charge, and users cannot simply add code to your system, you don't have to protect that I2C. And you can use the Standard API. It's user code, you can just run it.

But it's not perfect!! 

This API does not assume a CPU or MCU, so it does not know how to communicate with your I2C. YOU have to tell it.

So, look at the Platform.c file. Notice it is unpopulated. It's your job to write that - or find it on GitHub. It's there - lots of people have written it.