cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RTC fine until I write to the counter

willcfj
Senior
Posted on February 01, 2016 at 05:26

I'm using an STM32F100RB.  I've started with the reference code RTC/Calendar/main.c and it all works fine until I try to use the RTC_SetCounter function.  All is OK when it gets called on startup with a value of 0. I get my regular interrupts every 1 second as expected.  However, as soon as I try to set a time later after the counter is running, I get stuck in an infinite RTC interrupt loop.

I'm still pretty new to this, but in doing some debugging, it looks like even though I call

RTC_ClearFlag(RTC_FLAG_SEC)

RTC_ClearITPendingBit(RTC_IT_SEC)

the RTC_CRL bit 0 for the seconds interrupt never gets cleared, so when I return from the interrupt, I just go back into it again.  I tried an infinite loop inside the ISR to keepon writing 0 to RTC_CRL until the bit gets cleared and it gets stuck there, I believe confirming this to be the issue. 

Weird part is that ISR works fine servicing 1-second interrupts until I do the write to the counter registers, so clearly gumming something up.  I'm using the reference code subroutines.  I figure there is something else ancillary I have messed up. 

Any suggestions appreciated.

2 REPLIES 2
willcfj
Senior
Posted on February 04, 2016 at 04:14