cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why is any debug attempt on the STMF3348 discovery board always ending up in the hardware fault handler?

Clem1
Associate III

I am new to STM32 development and I have INCREDIBLE difficulties getting any example to run on any platform. I used to be able to run some very simple examples and even successfully implement changes on a TouchGFX-generated project, but changing the .ioc file was discouraged and quickly messed up things. More recently I have never managed to debug anything on the STMF3348 discovery board, let alone implement a DAC output (triggered from the timer and fed from DMA). If I am lucky if I reach the clock setup before falling over. Now, I have installed a cube F3 patch but none of the examples are visible, probably due to their different format (none was made for STM32CubeIDE but for SW4STM32 instead) and they do not show up in the MX tool. Anyhow, copying over the  SystemClock_Config() did not help as the system fell over evern before the HAL_INIT() ?! There must be a problem with the hardware setup but the board selection should take care of that. Is that board somehow obsolete? Could it be the debug settings? (Connect under reset?). I have previously developed using ATMEL (Atmel Studio, Visual Code with Platform IO), and Analog Devices / TI (using IAR) and never experienced such issues.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Perhaps build some of the CubeF3 / HAL examples using IAR should be project files for that.

Yes F3 rather old at this point. With other MCU experience I'd suggest root causing the Hard Fault

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Perhaps build some of the CubeF3 / HAL examples using IAR should be project files for that.

Yes F3 rather old at this point. With other MCU experience I'd suggest root causing the Hard Fault

Clem1