Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HAL_SPI_TransmitReceive_IT is not calling HAL_SPI_TxRxCpltCallback

Diego Ballen
Associate II
Posted on August 28, 2017 at 18:08

Hello everyone,

I am having a bit of trouble with the SPI communication between two STM32L053R8 boards.

I have a master who is sending 15 bytes every second to the slave.  The slave must also return 15 Bytes.

Tha master works properly and I confirmed it with a logic analyzer.

In the slave I  enabled the SPI global interrupt (via Cube) and I have the following code:

uint8_t dataTxSlave[15]={1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15};

uint8_t dataRxSlave[15]={0};

int main(void)

{

HAL_Init();

SystemClock_Config();

MX_GPIO_Init();

MX_USART2_UART_Init();

MX_SPI1_Init();

while (1)

{

HAL_SPI_TransmitReceive_IT(&hspi1, (uint8_t*) dataTxSlave, (uint8_t*) dataRxSlave, 15);

while(HAL_SPI_GetState(&hspi1) != HAL_SPI_STATE_READY);

HAL_GPIO_TogglePin(GPIOA,LD2_Pin);

HAL_Delay(500);

}

}

I can confirm that the callback:

void HAL_SPI_TxRxCpltCallback(SPI_HandleTypeDef *hspi)

{

printf('End InterrupTXRX\r\n');

}

Is never called. Neverthelees the HAL_SPI_TransmitReceive_IT is working since the Master is receiving the data from the slave.

Does anyone knows what I missing here?

Your help is very much appreciated.

Greetings,

Diego.

9 REPLIES 9
Diego Ballen
Associate II
Posted on August 28, 2017 at 18:34

Hello again,

I just realize about something interesting:

the HAL_SPI_TransmitReceive_IT(&hspi1, (uint8_t*) dataTxSlave, (uint8_t*) dataRxSlave, 15) function is missing the last two bytes of data comming from the master.

If I use the function HAL_SPI_Receive_IT(&hspi1, (uint8_t*) dataRxSlave, 15) then I get all the bytes and the callback HAL_SPI_RxCpltCallback(SPI_HandleTypeDef *hspi) is executed. This is really strange.

Is there anyway to confirm that I have the right HAL Drivers installed in my IDE (AC6 Open STM32 - Eclipse)?

Thanks in advanced for the help!

Greetings,