Small but serious problem with STM32CubeIDE and STM32CubeMX
When using STM32CubeIDE, it is easy to inadvertantly make changes to source files that are up on the screen, often as a result of the focus being on the wrong window when one types. (This can easily happen when debugging, e.g. I have the focus on a terminal window, and the code hits a breakpoint, which shifts the focus to a source code window--sometimes when I'm in the middle of typing into the terminal window).
That is not the problem though (although it might be nice to address it, perhaps by offering a code "read-only" mode controlled by a button in the toolbar).
The big problem is that if there are unsaved changes to source files, and one launches the integrated MX, makes changes to the configuration and saves, one is asked whether to generate source code. If one selects "yes", *then* one gets a dialog saying that there are unsaved source code changes, do you want to save them or discard them. I don't want to do either!!!! I want to cancel code generation and go back to the IDE and see what the changes are. I can't stress enough how frustrating this situation is.
When MX presents the dialog about unsaved files, it should offer a third option to cancel code generation and return to the IDE. As it happens, one can simply "X" out the dialog to achieve that effect. But that is not at all obvious. Also, I think that probably the IDE should not allow the launching of MX when there are unsaved source files, period. I don't see a situation where that is desirable to start with. At the least, I think that the IDE should present a warning dialog: "there are unsaved source files, do you still want to start MX?"
