Skip to main content
Rodo
Senior
September 5, 2026
Solved

Does "Erase full chip flash memory" wipes any factory values that I should save?

  • September 5, 2026
  • 1 reply
  • 70 views

Hi all,

 

I’ve seen in other manufacturers MCUs( sometimes) calibration values that may get lost if I wipe out the whole chip. It was long long ago.

I’m new to this STM32U5 series. I’m working with the STM32U5G9J-DK2 kit. I’m porting the LCD stuff to my empty program. But I’m debugging and sometimes I need to go back and program the BSP example. Then I go back to my program and the thing is it keeps showing the demo screen (from the BSP example)  even though I don’t have it in my program. It goes away if I unplug the USB cable. I was wondering if instead I can use the STM32cubeprogrammer and use the erase full chip button instead? Am I gonna lose anything important? Thanks

Best answer by alikhan

On the STM32U5, a full chip erase targets the user flash, so it shouldn’t erase the factory system memory/bootloader or OTP data. I’d still save/export the option-byte settings first if you’ve changed any of them, just to be safe.

1 reply

alikhan
alikhanBest answer
Visitor II
September 5, 2026

On the STM32U5, a full chip erase targets the user flash, so it shouldn’t erase the factory system memory/bootloader or OTP data. I’d still save/export the option-byte settings first if you’ve changed any of them, just to be safe.

alikhan