Skip to main content
ST AME Support NF
ST Employee
December 17, 2025

STM32CubeIDE 2.0.0 workflow tutorial

  • December 17, 2025
  • 14 replies
  • 17705 views

Introduction

STM32CubeIDE 2.0.0 is a major release. In this version, STM32CubeMX is removed from STM32CubeIDE. STM32CubeIDE and STM32CubeMX are now two separate products. This changes the workflow, which we describe and explain in this article. Click here if you would like to watch a video tutorial describing the new workflow. 

1. Background

In STM32CubeIDE1.x, STM32CubeMX was integrated into STM32CubeIDE:

STAMESupportNF_30-1765834484525.png

In STM32CubeIDE 2.x, the STM32CubeMX was removed from STM32CubeIDE

STAMESupportNF_31-1765834484537.png

2. New workflow with STM32CubeIDE

The new workflow consists in starting your project from STM32CubeMX, generating a project for STM32CubeIDE and then importing it in STM32CubeIDE.

The steps are described and explained in detail below. 

2.1 Create your project using STM32CubeMX

In the example below I have created a STM32CubeMX for a STM32U385 with a demonstration code.

STAMESupportNF_32-1765834554194.png

Once your project is completed (Pinout & Configuration and Clock Configuration fully configured), we go to the "Project Manager" tab to set up the project for STM32CubeIDE.

2.2 Set up the project for STM32CubeIDE

Go to "Project Manager" tab and input the following:

  • "Project Name:" give your project a name
  • "Project Location:" give the path where you want the project to be generated
  • "Toolchain:" select STM32CubeIDE

STAMESupportNF_33-1765834554212.png

2.3 Generate the project

Click on the [GENERATE CODE] icon

STAMESupportNF_34-1765834554213.png

Waiting for the project to be generated, you should see the following window once the project has been created successfully.

STAMESupportNF_35-1765834554215.png

You can now close the window (click [Close]).

2.4 Import the project in STM32CubeIDE

Switch to STM32CubeIDE 2.x and import the project we just created with STM32CubeMX.

Click on [File] → [STM32 Project Create/Import]

STAMESupportNF_38-1765834693994.png

A window opens, select [STM32CubeMX/STM32CubeIDE Project] under “Import STM32 Project” and then click [Next] as seen below.

STAMESupportNF_39-1765834694007.png

A new window pops up and you give the path of the project you previously created and then click [Finish].

STAMESupportNF_40-1765834694013.png

The project is now imported.

We can close the "Information Center" tab if it was opened.

STAMESupportNF_41-1765834694014.png

You should see the project on the left side after expanding it:

STAMESupportNF_42-1765834694017.png

2.5 Project modification in STM32CubeMX

Now, let's say that we want to modify our existing project in STM32CubeMX.

Go back to STM32CubeMX, and do the modifications you want to do.

For example, let’s say that we want to add a peripheral to our application (in my example, I am enabling I2C1):

STAMESupportNF_49-1765834897610.png

Then, generate the code again by clicking [GENERATE CODE].

STAMESupportNF_51-1765834897615.png

Note: [GENERATE CODE] will save your project

Once the code is generated, go back to STM32CubeIDE.

To reflect the changes made in the project, you need to “refresh” the project by doing the following:

Click on [File] → [Refresh] or press [F5].

STAMESupportNF_52-1765834897625.png

 

Note: We also wanted to highlight the "auto-refresh" of the STM32CubeIDE file tree:

STAMESupportNF_0-1765906080370.jpeg

This is an Eclipse native feature which checks all projects inside the workspace for changes and update the file tree accordingly.

Now your project has been updated to STM32CubeIDE.  In my case, for example, I can see the configuration of the I2C1 I just did in STM32CubeMX.

STAMESupportNF_58-1765835044762.png

3. Creating a new project with C++ as the target language

Many thanks to @TDK for providing this information in this thread.

Create the project in STM32CubeMX.

After you open it in STM32CubeIDE, right click the project and select "Convert to C++". This will add the C++ compiler and look for *.cpp files.

Add whatever *.cpp files you want and it'll work. You'll need to extern "C" the ones you call in main.c so the names don't get mangled. 

Related links

 

14 replies

Associate II
March 20, 2026

What was the result of this ST? I've been having the same issue and can't seem to get past it. Why are these projects generating without the ability to build? I've tried this with numerous example projects for the nucleo-u385RG, including the LPUART_WakeUpFromStop. I hit 'generate code' after selecting the STM32CubeIDE toolchain then import it into my workspace, and find no builder available to compile and run the program. The .project file in the main directory is indeed bare. If there are other steps involved please improve this guideline to include them. 

Was also completely blindsighted by the removal of cubeMX from the IDE. The project creation wizard appears to take you through all the same steps as before except suddenly there's no option to configure your peripherals and complete the setup. Appreciate the information you've put in this post, but help us notice these changes elsewhere, somehwere a standard user might encounter (ie. a notification in the project creation wizard). I'd say most users aren't accustomed to browsing Release Notes every time they absently click away one of 10 'update me' requests they've had pop up on their screen that day. 

Otherwise thanks for the work you do, it's a very useful piece of software.

Graduate
April 24, 2026

Bump.
I was using using STM32CubeIDE for many years. I think that I understand the concept of this change from 1.x to 2.x with separated tools but the result is disappointing.

I created a typical template-like project in STM32CubeMX, saved it and successfully imported in STM32CubeIDE. Code looks OK, just like it was in versions 1.x.

However, the "Build all" in "Project" menu is grayed out. There are not builders defined.

Update: I tried again, same or very similar steps and now building is possible. First project was out of workspace defined for IDE2.1.1 and its directory was significantly smaller (was only 4 MB while the second was 18 MB). In my first try the auto-complete (Ctrl+Space) didn't work either.

Associate II
May 22, 2026

I understand and created new project using MX and IDE . How can i import given examples given by STM for reference using MX and IDE ?

 

Associate II
September 2, 2026

I understand and created new project using MX and IDE . How can i import given examples given by STM for reference using MX and IDE ?