AnsweredAssumed Answered

STM32F334R8 - Setting the timers for a sine waveform generator ?

Question asked by Antoine.PM on Jun 14, 2016
Latest reply on Jun 15, 2016 by Antoine.PM
Hi everyone,

I'm quite new in the world of stm32 and microcontrollers in general. Here is the thing:
I want my f334 to generate a sine waveform which is going out by the DAC. I want it to adapt the frequency of the sine depending of a voltage it receives as an input, but basically I try to have 170kHz as output.
I mainly use mbed, and very recently tried Keil.
I found several examples, and I tried to use it as a start, but I can't go far.
Here is the code I use, from github: https://gist.github.com/donghee/9748245

01.#include "mbed.h"
02.// Audio output demo for speaker
03.// generates a 500Hz sine wave on the analog output pin
04.// 128 data points on one sine wave cycle are precomputed,
05.// scaled, stored in an array and
06.// continuously output to the Digital to Analog convertor
08.AnalogOut DAC(p18); // conflict with the DAC name, I changed to AnalogOut dacout(PA_4)
09.//global variables used by interrupt routine
10.volatile int i=0;
11.float Analog_out_data[128]; //I tried to put 256 instead of all the 128 (just to test) but it doesn't work
13.// Interrupt routine
14.// used to output next analog sample whenever a timer interrupt occurs
15.void Sample_timer_interrupt(void)
16.{
17.    // send next analog sample out to D to A
18.    DAC = Analog_out_data[i];
19.    // increment pointer and wrap around back to 0 at 128
20.    i = (i+1) & 0x07F;
21.}
23.int main()
24.{
25.    // set up a timer to be used for sample rate interrupts
26.    Ticker Sample_Period;
27.    // precompute 128 sample points on one sine wave cycle
28.    // used for continuous sine wave output later
29.    for(int k=0; k<128; k++) {
30.        Analog_out_data[k]=((1.0 + sin((float(k)/128.0*6.28318530717959)))/2.0);
31.        // scale the sine wave from 0.0 to 1.0 - as needed for AnalogOut arg
32.    }