AnsweredAssumed Answered

Questions surrounding __HAL_LOCK

Question asked by Matt Kline on Apr 26, 2016
Latest reply on May 15, 2018 by Clive One
I’m an engineer at Fluke, and we’re using an STM32F4xx series microcontroller (together with its HAL drivers) as the basis for a new product. The HAL contains a “locking” mechanism, where each subsystem—I²C, USB, UART, and so on—has a “locking object”. My team has been working on the assumption that this mechanism’s goal is to provide some mutual exclusion for memory-mapped hardware registers and related state so that, for example, an interrupt doesn’t modify the same hardware state being manipulated in the main “thread” of exectution.

What’s confused us, however, is how this is done. The driver code found in stm32f4xx_hal_def.h defines the locking mechanism as follows:[1]

typedef enum
{
  HAL_UNLOCKED = 0x00U,
  HAL_LOCKED   = 0x01U
} HAL_LockTypeDef;

#if (USE_RTOS == 1)
  /* Reserved for future use */
  #error "USE_RTOS should be 0 in the current HAL release"
#else
  #define __HAL_LOCK(__HANDLE__)                       \
            do{                                        \
                if((__HANDLE__)->Lock == HAL_LOCKED)   \
                {                                      \
                   return HAL_BUSY;                    \
                }                                      \
                else                                   \
                {                                      \
                   (__HANDLE__)->Lock = HAL_LOCKED;    \
                }                                      \
              }while (0)

#define __HAL_UNLOCK(__HANDLE__)                     \
             do{                                       \
                 (__HANDLE__)->Lock = HAL_UNLOCKED;    \
               }while (0)
#endif /* USE_RTOS */