AnsweredAssumed Answered

Questions re USB Virtual Comm Port (VCP) capabilities

Question asked by mai-au on Mar 14, 2014
Latest reply on Mar 17, 2014 by sung.chen_chung

Hello,

I am trying to use the Virtual Comm Port (VCP) capability in the STM32 USB Host Device Library V2.1.0 on a STM32F207. But I am relatively new to implementing a USB device and the STM32 USB libraries, so I would appreciate any comments on the following points:

I am building a device that is to log text based data then upload it to a purpose written application when plugged into a (Widows based) Host PC. As I see it, I want to implement this connection as a Virtual Comm Port over USB, for the following reasons:

- I can use ST’s Virtual Comm Port Driver at the PC end and not have to write any sort of USB driver code at the PC end - my purpose written PC application only needs to know how to operate a (virtual) serial port,

- I have significant experience at communicating with embedded microcontrollers across simple RS-232 serial interfaces, which I understand the VCP connection will emulate, so I expect to be able to use my established techniques,

- And of-course, RS-232 ports on PCs have become rare and USB is built into the STM32…

I assume my thinking is all reasonable so far, though if anyone thinks differently I would be interested to know your thinking on this.