cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cross Talk Time of Flight Product Selection

JGarrettW
Associate II

Hey, I am a researcher and I have an odd requirement for a TOF sensor. I need to create an array of TOF sensors in which cross-talk is purposefully used. In other words, I want one TOF sensor to send a pulse and all the other sensors tell me when the pulse from the first sensor reached them. I would like to avoid making this system from base-emitter and receiver components, though that may be what I have to do. I hesitate since TOF requires accurate timing down to picoseconds.

For those interested, my specific application is in soft robotics. I have a grid of interconnected stretchable fiber optic waveguides. The amount of time and amplitude of the signal that makes it through one of these waveguides is affected by how stretched and bent these waveguides are. I want to send a pulse from one point in the grid and measure how long and how much makes it to the other points on the grid and then repeat that process for each point on the grid. This is very similar to optical time domain reflectometry, but I am hoping to avoid the large and expensive equipment that field uses. Another researcher has done this on a small scale with one of the STMicroelectronics VL53L3CX sensors (Multitouch Pressure Sensing With Soft
Optical Time-of-Flight Sensors: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/stamp/stamp.jsp?arnumber=9674750).

Screenshot 2023-06-28 112638.jpgAny help anyone can give would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Anne BIGOT
ST Employee

Hello
There are some problems with this approach. The VCSELs generate a lot of EMi. To avoid them, the sensors provide a bit of spread spectrum clock jitter. This keeps the relatively large, fast power on/off from screwing up all the chips around it by having one large EMI spike.

But it seems you want to use the VCSEL output of one chip and the RX of lots of chips.