cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

STM32WB Low power manager

CMiqu.1
Associate II

Hi everybody,

I'm a student in a French engineering school currently working on a project including the STM32WB wireless CPU series. For the sake of simplicity, I'm just going to say that my project basically consist in establishing a BLE connection using a 1000 µF capacitor as my only energy source.

Here comes my question : I've tried using the "Low power manager" that comes with the sequencer when generating the code trough CubeMx : I've enabled it in app_conf.h aswell as disabled all debugging options and made sure it was configured for the StopMode2. My understanding is that my STM32WB should enter StopMode between 2 advertising packets, so if I monitor the consumption , I should be able to see it drop to a couple µA when in StopMode and rising back up for a very short time everytime a packet is sent.

However, when configuring the advertising to send a packet every 5 secondes, my energy comsumption do not drop to a couple µA after sending the first packet. My guess is that i'm not actually entering StopMode but I can't figure out why.

Any help is greatly appreciated, sorry for my bad english.

5 REPLIES 5
CMiqu.1
Associate II

Christophe Arnal
ST Employee

Hello,

I would recommend to start from the BLE_HearRate which is the only BLE application which is by default setup to achieve the lowest power consumption.

This should allow you to check your setup used to measure power consumption.

If the measurement are confirmed to be fine, I would compare the two app_conf.h. The over consumption may come from the debugger which is still enabled or some UART enabled for the traces.

Regards.

CMiqu.1
Associate II

Hi,