cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UART Transmission and Reception between STM32 Nucleo-64 and Raspberry Pi 4

MTaj-.1
Associate II

Hello,

I am new to the ST developers community.

I have an large file (4 MB) that I need to divide it and transfer data chunks serially from Raspberry Pi to STM32 Nucleo-64 board including the STM32L073RZ MCU with a certain delay to allow the STM32 Nucleo-64 board, that interfaces with Semtech 2.4 GHz Radio board, to transmit data wirelessly utilising 2.4 GHz LoRa radio protocol which allows high data rate (up to roughly 2 Mbps).

First, I see that I can use either: 1) the USB to USB port on the STM32 Nucleo-64 board or, 2) the GPIO UART (i.e., USART TX and USART RX pins) to connect and interface the Raspberry Pi with STM32 Nucleo-64 board for data transmission and reception. Which one do you recommend for ease of configuration? I think I will need to apply an appropriate UART Clock Configuration in STM32 Nucleo-64 board including clock rate, etc.

Second, I am learning about using the STM32CubeMX software tool using the course in YouTube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQCqVBuq-gA&list=PLnMKNibPkDnGtuIl5v0CvC81Am7SKpj02&index=2) to setup the pinouts, clock configuration, UART setting. It seems in module 10, the course explains how to set up the UART.

Third. after I set the UART pins using STM32CubeMX and other pins, I can Generate Code and use the ST32Cube IDE (I am learning how to use it following the YouTube course: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLnMKNibPkDnFCosVVv98U5dCulE6T3Iy8) to set up the UART configuration settings and 2.4 GHz LoRa radio settings. Do you know any example on ST32Cube IDE that I can build upon utilising the ST32 Nucleo board to transmit and receive data through UART protocol?

To set up the radio settings, I will be utilising the code implementation

provided by Semtech: https://github.com/lorabasics/lorabasicsmodem