cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hello ST Experts I have a query on mems mic interfacing STM32f466re nucleo board i am getting a PCM data in PCM_buffer .Now How do I acquire this data and convert it to dB and print serially for every 1 second or 5 seconds .

SG.4
Associate II

the noise intensity level print on serially on monitor . from this the threshold has to be set to detect pleasant noise or harmful noises for further coding and analysis.

I am stuck at a point in PCM audio data out conversion to dB i.e noise level .

Below is a image attached on how I am getting the PCM values in buffer. And I am not sure how to validate whether this is correct or wrong.? and after this if any voice or variations in the mic should be showing alterations in the noise level intensity printing serially.

I am a beginner with audio mems mic and audio processing.

Please help .this project is on urgent requirement.

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Eleon BORLINI
ST Employee

Hi @Community member​ ,

I checked by our ST experts, and here you can find their feedback.

• It is not clear if the data you are showing are correct or not, if limited to a screenshot of the debugger... at first glance, they looks wrong, since they are saturated between +-32768, but if this is the very first frame it could be correct to have such numbers, since you have to wait that the CIC filter is converging. In any case, the suggestion is to try to stream the data in some different ways than the debugger (e.g. USB, UART if you are fast enough), in order to have a more complete picture;
  • For the dBSPL calculation, there are a couple of libraries: one in the source code of the FP-AUD-SMARTMIC1 function pack (C\Middlewares\ST\STM32_AcousticDB_Library) and the other one in binary format in the STM32L4Cube firmware package, that you can use when you are able to extract correct data.

Please let me know if these suggestions help.

-Eleon