cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No STM32 Target Found - custom board

UMoha.1
Associate

Hi guys, I'm starting from a bare STM32G070KB, and cannot for the life of me get it to connect.

I had this problem with an STM32G071CB but was able to solve it.

The problem I was having was that I couldn't get an ST-Link to read the chip on a breadboard.

I'm having the same problem with a G070KB now, and while I was able to solve the problem in my last post, I'm again at a dead end. I'm really sorry if I'm missing something obvious or asking what might be obvious questions here- I'm new to embedded systems. I've checked the spec sheets and getting started guide, nothing seems to indicate that I've set anything up incorrectly.

Here's my schematic: https://imgur.com/a/y27Dr3f

I'm using a LQFP32-to-DIP socket to interface with the chip, no soldering, so I know it's not a bad joint somewhere. I've tried with 3 different chips.

Things I've tried:

Tried pulling and shorting BOOT0 High and Low upon startup, no luck.

Tried manually resetting via the RST pin pulling Low, on startup and after startup, no luck.

With and without the 8MHz crystal

Using 3.3V from the ST-Link, and providing my own 3.3V with a LDO supplied with 5V.

Regardless of what I try, I get the following error in STM32CubeProgrammer:

12:19:03 : ST-LINK SN : 3837130012144D43574D4E00

12:19:03 : ST-LINK FW : V2J37S7

12:19:03 : Board : --

12:19:03 : Voltage : 3.16V

12:19:03 : Error: No STM32 target found!

I've got the appropriate capacitors on board, I've checked all the connections with a multimeter, the real-life breadboard setup is exactly as shown in the schematic.