cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ITM not showing output

NThom.2
Associate II

Hello Sir / Madam,

Greetings of the day, I'm a novice player in embedded programing I owned a Stm32-nucleo-g474re board and enrolled for an online course which uses similar arm cortex m4 board, the first task was to use printf and display in the SWV ITM console, I have added the addition syntax for ITMgetchar in syscalls.c and used the function at the write section of the syscalls. I have done everything as per the guidelines but I'm getting any output .

Please find the screenshots of the debugger settings, ITM console and program,

If anyone could help I would be grateful. Thanks in advance

0693W000007CualQAC.png0693W000007CuaWQAS.png0693W000007CubKQAS.png0693W000007CudQQAS.jpgHello Sir / Madam

6 REPLIES 6

Honestly not showing any code here that helps.

ITMgetchar?

Use ITM_SendChar() directly, if that works check your plumbing.

Ensure the target and debugger software have a consistent understanding of the clocks, if there is a baud rate mismatch, its not going to work.

Double check the SWO pin wiring, that there isn't a solder bridge or something missing.

If the debugger drops the connection, make sure that you don't enter a low power state (WFI, etc) and that you don't interfere with the PA13, PA14 and PB3 pins in the GPIO units.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..
NThom.2
Associate II

Hello Sir,

Thank you for the support, please find the Screenshot of syscall.c, debugger setting which have the option of low power mode and my board image with jumper0693W000007CwC7QAK.jpg, I couldn't find the where the baud rate setting .

Solder bridge between PB3 and stlink is SB15 which has a 0ohm resister

pl

0693W000007CwA1QAK.png0693W000007Cw9rQAC.png0693W000007Cw9hQAC.png

Pavel A.
Evangelist III