cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Matching Network Design Confirmation & Questions

David Orr
Associate II

After going through AN5457 I want to confirm whether I have correctly followed the design guidelines presented.

I am aiming at 920MHz and have used the 923MHz 22 dBm value for Z0 (10.58-j10.71).

This is my first time dealing with RF but I understand that the aim is to reach the center of the smith chart and hence 50/0 Re/Im. On page 26 it gets a bit confusing as the notch filter chart clearly moves away from the 50 Ohm center point. This is the last chart in the document which shows the full network so I'm not sure if the remaining components are supposed to return to the center or not.

I have assumed that the end result should return to the center and therefore be as close to 50/0 as possible upon entering the RF switch. Is this the correct outcome or are the filtering stages not expected to return to the 50 Ohm value?

My smith chart and matching circuit are attached. All values on the components for Q are extracted from the murata SimSurfing tool.

I also have a few other questions:

• Why does the power level affect the load-pull impedance value when the frequency is the same?

• If designing for both low and high power from a single RFO pin (e.g. 17 or 22 dBm from RFO_HP, 10 or 15 dBm from RFO_LP) which PA impedance should be used for the matching network design? (i.e. highest power, lowest power, in-between etc.)

• The matching network of the high band (868/915) Nucleo doesn't seem to follow the AN5457 guidelines. Was AN5457 finished after the Nucleo design was finalized or is there another reason?
2 REPLIES 2
Hamilton DC
Associate III

Hi @David Orr​ ​,

My best wishes for 2021.

I'll try to answer each question.