Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Transition from PIC

AThor.2
Associate II

Hello All

Noob question here - seeking advice.

I've been using PICs for many years now and writing only in assembler. I've reached the end of my tether with microchip and the lottery of which IDE will work with which programming tool and with which device, plus many other glitches and bugs with their hardware and software.

It seems like time to migrate to ARM but I still want to mostly code in ASM. Could you please advise what IDE (if any) would be best for dipping my toe in.

TIA

Andy

12 REPLIES 12

Really going to come down to a reliable/comfortable debugger. I'd say take Keil for a spin, might take a while to hit the 32KB ceiling for evaluation linker/debugger, and if you're comfortable with just a raw disassembly perhaps beyond.

Making with GNU/GCC is also a viable part, assembler syntax between KEIL, IAR and GNU perhaps the biggest potential annoyance.

To play one can take example projects and use startup_stmxyz.s and start adding functions and calling from Reset_Handler, all the vector table in place, and CPU starts from internal HSI or MSI clock.

Tips, Buy me a coffee, or three.. PayPal Venmo
Up vote any posts that you find helpful, it shows what's working..

> It seems like time to migrate to ARM but I still want to mostly code in ASM.

I wouldn't recommend that. And, believe me, I have logged quite some years of asm on various platforms (not PICs though, not that I've never wrote anything for them, but I hate them and avoid them... 🙂 ). But, when it came to RISCs - and it started with the "babyRISC", i.e. AVR - I bit the bitter pill, and learned C. And I hate C ever since...

The main reason is, that RISCs are inhuman. In detail

• there are too many registers (16 in ARM, although some of them are dedicated e.g. PC) and one usually loses track of the register allocation across longer pieces of asm code