cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to change Gap discovery duration?

Saksham
Associate

Hi,

I tried the BLE p2p Client example from cubemx and running on STM32IDE.

Whenever I push the button, the device starts scanning in general discovery mode. The issue is it always scans for 10 seconds and I am not able to change it.

I have tried changing the scan interval and window but that's different and still the same result. I tried to find a timeout for this but can't seem to locate it.

Can someone help me please, I am new to this chip and BLE so having a hard time understanding.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Vyacheslav
Senior II

Hi.

In AN5270 :

2.4.23 ACI_GAP_START_GENERAL_DISCOVERY_PROC

Start the general discovery procedure. The controller is commanded to start active scanning. The procedure is terminated when either the upper layers issue a command to terminate the procedure by issuing the command ACI_GAP_TERMINATE_GAP_PROC with the procedure code set to 0x02 or a timeout happens

(the timeout value is fixed at 10.24 s). When the procedure is terminated due to any of the above reasons, ACI_GAP_PROC_COMPLETE_EVENT event is returned with the procedure code set to 0x02.

You need to catch event ACI_GAP_PROC_COMPLETE_EVENT and restart scan if need.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Vyacheslav
Senior II

Hi.

In AN5270 :

2.4.23 ACI_GAP_START_GENERAL_DISCOVERY_PROC

Start the general discovery procedure. The controller is commanded to start active scanning. The procedure is terminated when either the upper layers issue a command to terminate the procedure by issuing the command ACI_GAP_TERMINATE_GAP_PROC with the procedure code set to 0x02 or a timeout happens

(the timeout value is fixed at 10.24 s). When the procedure is terminated due to any of the above reasons, ACI_GAP_PROC_COMPLETE_EVENT event is returned with the procedure code set to 0x02.