cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extremely slow timer

ferraridamiano
Associate II

0693W000005BwGTQA0.jpg0693W000005BwHMQA0.jpgHi, I'm new in stm32 world. I recently bougth a stm32L4R5ZI nucleo board and started a project using timer/counter. I tried to do a very simple project that generate a PWM of 1 Hz with d%=50%. So I setup the timer clock to 30 MHz. And in the parameter settings I setup: PWM generation on CHx, prescaler to 29999, counter period of 999 and pulse at 499. What I get is an LED that blinks at a very low frequency, at about 1/7 Hz. instead of 1 Hz.

My program just do this (I just enabled the timer in the main).

I tried to change timer, and use timer as a counter but I always get similar results. I have no idea of what can it be.

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

If you generated the code by STM32CubeIDE, the line SystemClock_Config(); in main() will setup the clocks. Beforehand, the MCU runs on a internal clock at 4MHz. See reference manual RM0394 6.2 Clocks "The MSI is used as system clock source after startup from Reset, configured at 4 MHz."

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
Uwe Bonnes
Principal II

I guess you are still running on the 4 Mhz MSI , as 4/30 ~= 1/7. Check your clock setting.

KnarfB
Principal III

I wouldn't change APB clocks accoring to a single timer requirement, but use the default SYSCLK values and adjust the prescaler & period.

Like for my STM32L32KC with 80 MHz SYCLK I use a prescaler of 40000-1, a counter period of 2000-1, and a period of 1000-1.

gregstm
Senior III

Initialise the MCO pin to check that Sysclock etc. is what you expect.

Thanks, I've done some test and I noticed that if I consider the timer frequence = 4MHz and I compute the prescaler and ARR, I get 1 hz PWM. What is strange is that whatever timer frequency I set in clock configuration the real timer frequence is 4MHz. Why this?