cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using touchgfx without external RAM

ETale.1
Associate III

I designed a GUI on stm32f746 discovery board and programmed the board successfully and GUI worked perfectly, now I want to redesign the GUI and my programm to be able to use a custom board which doesn't have an external RAM

at first I disabled the MX_FMC_Init fuction but the display is black and nothing shows up, then I read the article below and followed the instruction but display went black again.

I'm a beginner and I would be very gratefull if anyone guides me how to config the CubeMX and touchgfx to work without external RAM.

https://support.touchgfx.com/docs/development/board-bring-up/how-to/03-display-internal

26 REPLIES 26
Romain DIELEMAN
ST Employee

Hi,

Could you maybe share your CubeMX project or screenshots of your configuration (unless confidential)?

First just to check, you put the framebuffer in internal RAM but do you have enough RAM for it ? A framebuffer size is Height * Width * bpp. Depending on your configuration you might be using 2 framebuffers + annimation storage (so in total for that example, it is 3 framebuufers). And be careful as you also need some storage for the TouchGFX framezork and memory for the "heaviest" screen of your GUI.

The number of framebuffer you wish to use can be modified in CubeMX in the X-CUBE-TouchGFX configuraqtion in the framebuffer strategy config.If you already all this then sorry 😅.

What you can do as well is look at the H7B3 disco board. If i am not mistaken it also does not use external RAM, so have a look at its application template and CubeMX config.

/Romain

ETale.1
Associate III

Hi,

first of all than you for your response.

the .ioc cubeMX file is attached,