cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How would I go about adding GPS and Cellular connectivity to the SensorTile? I was looking into using the Cellular LTE-M and NB-IoT connectivity expansion board with STM32L496AG MCU and the Teseo-LIV3F GPS module.

SZamm.1
Associate II

3 REPLIES 3
Eleon BORLINI
ST Employee

Hi @SZamm.1​ ,

I'm not a great expert on this topic, but I'm not sure it's an easy task to add these two features (GPS and Cellular connectivity) to the SensorTile.

I would start from other sensor platforms, such as the STWINKT1, or from the B-L475E-IOT01A Discovery kit for IoT node.

For the STWINKT1 in particular, it supports BLE wireless connectivity through an on-board module, and Wi-Fi connectivity through a special plugin expansion board (STEVAL-STWINWFV1). The core system board also includes an STMod+ connector for compatible, low cost, small form factor daughter boards associated with the STM32 family, such as the LTE Cell pack.

The other suggested platform, the IoT node, can support a broad MCU & MPU Embedded Software that can be found on this page. There are also correlated online user manuals that explain the usage of these packs.

-Eleon

Thank you Eleon. Do you know if the STWINKT1 can support a GPS addon board as well as the stMOD+ LTE pack at the same time?

I was looking into the different MCUs that are in the sensorTile and the STWINKT1. Do you know what the difference is between the STM32L4R9 and the STM32L476JG is?

Hi @SZamm.1​ ,

>> Do you know if the STWINKT1 can support a GPS addon board as well as the stMOD+ LTE pack at the same time?

I don't believe there is a custom GPS add-on board for the STWINKT1, unfortunately... ST portfolio includes the X-NUCLEO-GNSS1A1 global navigation satellite system (GNSS) module, and you might in principle interface it with the STWINKT, but not sure it is an easy task...

>> Do you know what the difference is between the STM32L4R9 and the STM32L476JG is?