cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to generate periodic alarm interrupt from RTC

HBavi.1
Associate III

Hello,

I am quite new to STM32G0 based development. I want to generate periodic alarm interrupt from RTC (e.g. RTC should generate an interrupt at every 5 minute, 4 second and 400msec). Is it possible to generate interrupt like this? I tried various ways but none of them worked. Any clue or support in this regard would be appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Peter BENSCH
ST Employee

Subseconds (RTC_SSR) are often misunderstood because they don't count up but count down:

"The ck_apre clock is used to clock the binary RTC_SSR subseconds downcounter. When it reaches 0, RTC_SSR is reloaded with the content of PREDIV_S."

With a clock of 32768Hz, PREDIV_S (the 15bit synchronous predivider) is normally set to 256-1. Due to the downcounter you have to think the other way around in order to program a time difference for a future interrupt, i.e. subtracting it from the current value and correct the underflow, like e.g.:

// for 32kHz, PREDIVS=255 --> e.g. 80/256*1s=312.5ms
uint32_t subseconds_diff = 80; // example
// threatens underflow?
if (subsecond < subseconds_diff)
{
  // yes, add PREDIV_S+1 first:
  subsecond = subsecond+hrtc->Init.SynchPrediv+1-subseconds_diff;
  next_second++;
}
else
{
  subsecond -= subseconds_diff;
}

Please insert the following lines to get the next alarm:

// mask date and weekday as only hh:mm:ss:sss is of interest:
sAlarm.AlarmMask = RTC_ALARMMASK_DATEWEEKDAY;

// use subseconds:
sAlarm.AlarmSubSecondMask = RTC_ALARMSUBSECONDMASK_NONE;

// alarm is not triggered if missing:
sAlarm.AlarmDateWeekDaySel = RTC_ALARMDATEWEEKDAYSEL_DATE;
sAlarm.Alarm = RTC_ALARM_A;

BTW: please use the Code Snippet button </> to insert source code.

When your question is answered, please close this topic by choosing Select as Best.

/Peter