cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TouchGFX with the Hardware Button

Azeem
Associate II

Hi,

I am new to the TouchGFX library and trying to make it work with the STM32F429-DISC1 board. The touch display is working fine and I don't see any issues with it. I am now trying to work around the Hardware Button to work with the TouchGFX library.

On the board there is a PUSH button and I want to make it work with the screens. I know there is a workshop available for the Hardware button and TouchGFX interface.

Is there any example available to work with the Push button or Hardware Buttons with the TouchGFX library or any resources?

I would appreciate your help.

Thanks

Azeem

12 REPLIES 12
Azeem
Associate II

Hi,

I was littering reading the same post. Is it please possible to please share an example for the TouchGFX hardware interaction library?

MM..1
Chief II

How you dont understand on this example ?

Azeem
Associate II

Well, I am trying to get it work. If I am successful then I will let know otherwise I will have to come here again. Thanks

Michael K
Senior III

The "proper" way to do this is to check your hardware state in the model tick() function, and if it changes, call a virtual modelListener function. Any screen you want to respond to the button press should implement this function in its presenter. When the presenter method is called, get the data from the model and call an appropriate method on the view.

For example, let's say you want to turn a box a certain color if the button is pressed.

In Model.cpp:

bool buttonStatus = false; // this should be a private variable in Model.hpp, with a public accessor like getButtonStatus();

void Model::tick(){
  bool currentButtonStatus = checkButtonHardware(); // implement this on your own
   if(currentButtonStatus != buttonStatus){
      buttonStatus = currentButtonStatus;
      modelListener->buttonChanged();
   }
}

In ModelListener.hpp:

virtual void buttonChanged() {}