cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hello. I am developing a device to get optical sensor data(about 10KB) and predict. And this device is portable, so power consumption should be considered. STLinux can be a solution? and which board is suggestable? Thanks. GB

GYoon.1
Associate II

I am a SW engineer, so I ordered HW devp. to others.

They are using STM32F4 board to gather optical sensor data and display prediction(sensor requires over 200 KHz reliable clock freq. at minimum).

For prediction data will be transfered to phone via bluetooth and transfered again to cloud server and prediction is transfered in reverse-order.

The architecture is pretty complex and comm. overhead is serious, so I am considering to use linux-based system to gather data and predict in one board.

Training would be done on desktop and produces keras or tf model, so I need only runtime prediction environment on board.

Problem is prediction contains data pre-processing and it needs mainly numpy and scipy library.

The other thing is, gathering data would be written in C, and prediction code in python.

5 REPLIES 5
TDK
Guru

If you want to run Linux in any capacity, the STM32MP1 processors can work. I don't think low power and heavy computation will mix very well. Linux on any MCU isn't going to work well.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".

A full fat operating system and low power don't make good bedfellows. I'm inferring you need some processing grunt to do the prediction, peripherals to interface to the optical sensor and a bluetooth interface and stack. Linux is a comfort blanket as you know it will do the networking and provide a familiar development environment, but it costs in terms of (electrical) power, performance and support electronics (e.g. Flash memory for file system, RAM for kernel and drivers). The key decider might be the battery, so when you say 'low power' can you quantify that?

GYoon.1