cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple Ethernet test

Gregory3
Associate III

Hi!

I'm using a custom PCB with STM32F767 on it with LAN8742a for Ethernet communication.

Just to mention, I'm totally new to Ethernet topics.

I have already search for an very simple example on how to just test the connection from the STM to LAN8742a (RMII) and to the PC via Ethernet cable.

Is it possible to just use the CubeIDE with the Ethernet driver but not to use and LwIP or RTOS for a simple test (ping)?

Or do I need to use the above mentioned components in order to just "see" if the HW is alive? Where to start the work? Are there any simple examples/app notes on that?

Like I wrote it is just for a basic HW test. Nothing more.

Thank you for any hints!

Regards,

Gregor

5 REPLIES 5
Gregory3
Associate III

Ok, so I have found the best simple explanation on this under this link:

https://github.com/martinbrickey/lwip/blob/master/STM32%20Ethernet%20Start%20Point%2020180307.pdf

This seems also not to work for me, because I'm not able to get a response to a ping.

To make the picture more clear, I have disabled the HTTPD, so the topic about the fsdata.c is not important at this time. The goal is just to ping the HW and get a response.

Here are my settings for the ETH:

0693W000004KAMcQAO.png0693W000004KJFBQA4.pngAnd for the LwIP:

0693W000004KJFaQAO.png0693W000004KJFfQAO.png 

Here is my main.c code:

#include "main.h"
#include "lwip.h"
#include "gpio.h"

/* Private includes ----------------------------------------------------------*/
/* USER CODE BEGIN Includes */

/* USER CODE END Includes */

/* Private typedef -----------------------------------------------------------*/
/* USER CODE BEGIN PTD */
/* USER CODE END PTD */

/* Private define ------------------------------------------------------------*/
/* USER CODE BEGIN PD */

/* USER CODE END PD */

/* Private macro -------------------------------------------------------------*/