cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Further information on double sided NFC Antennas for ST25DV

PSaal.1
Associate II

Dear Community,

as a hardware developer I'm working on a project with ST25DV Tag.

Now I'm facing some problems with the NFC Antenna and would like to try out some double sided ones. I have some example boards and also a list of ST approved antennas but I want to fit the antenna size to my application. That's why I need some formula to calculate.

Unfortunately, I can't find any useful information on designing double sided antennas.

Do you have any experience with it or do you know good whitepapers or tools to calculate?

Of course I know the ST Antenna calculating tool but that's only for single sided antennas.

Thank you very much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
LHell.1
Associate II

FYI I was just told by ST support that increasing the PCB width from 0.8mm to 1.6 will decrease inductance by about 0.4 uH, and that this could be compensated for by adding a 10th inner winding on both layers. I will also add a footprint for a parallel tuning capacitor, just in case.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
JDirk.1
Senior

Hi,

in the pdf attached you find some formulas and some best practices. Your question is good. Reading this i realized that i also should think about. I designed my first antenna these days using the stm tool. I simple did the antenna double side, so the same layout on both pcb sides. Once i receive the pcb i will check if it works - but i am pretty sure it will. I also compared my layout with the ANT7 reference board - its exactly the same and they also did it both sides ....

anyway ... maybe the pdf attached helps you

good luck!

PSaal.1
Associate II

Hi JDirk.1,

thank you for your answer.

AN2972 has all the needed formulas for different shapes but only for single sided Antennas.