cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TouchGFX or Embedded Wizard or what am I missing? Complete STM newb.

JGoli.1
Associate

I am new to the STM world. I was drawn to the STM because of the beautiful graphics I see in demo's and I would love my HMI's to look that advanced. I am having trouble trying to figure out just what software to use to build an HMI/GUI. Everything I read says TouchGFX but then I click on the "Premium Content Webinar " and they show me Embedded Wizard. In general there seems to be a never ending sea of links that lead to more confusion when clicked. Can anybody set me straight?

3 REPLIES 3
Mon2
Senior III

Welcome to the forum. Personally suggest the use of TouchGFX which is a free tool supplied by ST as ST purchased the vendor about 1.5 years ago. This used to be a 3k EURO commercial product. Respectively, the tool has been advanced over the past number of months so be sure that you have the latest toolchain installed. Next, review a kit video that can confirm the hardware (kit) from ST is supported on TouchGFX. Before jumping in, follow the toolchain steps in an attempt to program the same selected target kit. If the process builds then you stand a good chance of building your own custom GUI. I have been out of the loop for a bit but will be jumping back in shortly for a possible new design. Hope this helps.