cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sharing inputs between ADC and Comparators on STM32F303

JOwen.2
Associate II

I am new to STM32 and am trying to choose between a 64-pin and 100-pin STM32F303 for a power converter project, the answer to this question determines if I can make it work with only 64 pins - please help.

I need 7 differential ADC inputs (both + and - inputs will be external) and 7 comparator (both + and - inputs will be external). The ADC channels and comparators actually monitor the same 7 differential signals - the comparator outputs simply generate interrupts once the inputs change sign, the ADC polls and measures the differential inputs periodically. The Reference Manual shows that the 7 available comparators have specific input pin assignments in accordance with Table 108 "Comparator input/output summary" on p443. The ADCs of course have much greater flexibility, each with many pin options to choose for differential inputs, although many of them are the same as the ones used for the comparators.

The question is - can the ADC inputs be assigned to the same pins that I use for the comparators? hence 14 inputs (7 differential pairs) between the peripherals, OR, do the comparator and ADC inputs for each pair have to be assigned to different pins and hence I have to route the ADC inputs to different external pins and connect them externally on the PCB to the ones being used for the comparators?

Many thanks for your help.

Jeff

6 REPLIES 6

> same pins

Yes.

I'd recommend you to do a proof of concept experiment on a cheap Nucleo or Disco board, with the same chip you intend to use. Note, that 'F303 are in fact 3 distinct models, depending on the memories size, with quite some differences when it comes to the comparators.

JW

> I'd recommend you to do a proof of concept experiment