cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Correctly include external files (.c and .h)

Avan .4
Associate

Hello,

I am new with STM32CUBE. I have a weather station that I want to couple on the STM32F411 PCB (from Aliexpress). It works when I put the uint8_t WH24P_Data[21] data buffer in main.c. I have made WH24P.c and WH24P.h and I want to declare this buffer in WH24P.c from main.c with including #include "WH24P.h" from main.c. So I can use this external declared buffer in main. But If I move the buffer outside main.c, the data will not be send to the USB CDC. I can't even open the virtual comport. I just placed WH24P.c to Core-Src and WH24P.h to Core-Inc. But how do I import it the correct way? Maybe in a directory like the USB_DEVICE directory (WH24P name instead). How do I know it's included? It failed in the beginning, so that's why I put it in the Core directory at the moment.

This is in WH24P.c

uint8_t WH24P_Data[21];

This is in WH24P.h

extern uint8_t WH24P_Data[21];

Why can't I use this buffer from main.c when it is placed in WH24P.c and .h? The easiest way would be to have a ll the functions in main.c, but I want to make a separate file, so I can easily compile it later for another controller.

So the question in short. How can I include external files in STM32CUBE, so I can access the buffers declared in that other file. Because I am a beginner, please put it simply. Right click this and click that. Thank you very much.

Kind regards,

Ad

4 REPLIES 4
TDK
Guru

You're placing the files in the correct directories and have the correct definitions.

You need to #include "WH24P.h" from within main.c so it sees the definition.

If you feel a post has answered your question, please click "Accept as Solution".
TOlli
Senior

You need to define the folder where the files are as source and header folder.

To define a header (include) folder:

In "Project Explorer", right click on the project and select "Properties" from the context menu.