cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is modulus of acceleration?

NLe.1
Associate

In Design Tip DT0106, is it mentioned that:

Another technique which can be of help in controlling the integration error is known as Zero-Velocity-Update (ZVU): when the modulus of the acceleration is 1g and the output of the gyroscope is near 0, then it is assumed that the velocity is zero, and the corresponding integrator is reset to 0. If all the conditions are met in the above code, this instruction is executed: velhp(i,:)=[0,0,0]. 

What does it mean for the "modulus of the acceleration is 1g"? How could I determine this from the accelerometer data? Furthermore, does the output of the gyroscope being near 0 mean that the gyroscope data in all x,y,z axes be 0? I am quite new to these sensors, so I hope that I could get some clarification on these. Thank you!

2 REPLIES 2
Piranha
Chief II
Eleon BORLINI
ST Employee