cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

in MCWB 5.4.3 i can't get a Connection with the EVALKIT-ROBOT-1.

ARose.1
Associate II

im very new with EVALKIT-ROBOT-1. I loaded the EVALKIT-ROBOT-1.stmx V5.4.3 File which was delivered with the Kit into the MCWB 5.4.3. Because in can’t find a Board named STEVAL-SPIN3201 i can’t use the MotorProfiler.

When i load the EVALKIT-ROBOT-1.stmx V5.4.3 into the MCWB 5.4.3. and open the Monitor i can’t Connect to the Device. I tried all Baudrates and used the Com45 who i got new, when my RS485-Adapter was connected on USB.

I tried that first with the original Firmware delivered on the EVALKIT-ROBOT-1. I generated a new *.ioc File with the settings STM32CubeMX 5.6.1 and the Toolchain ST STM32CubeIDE and selected the STM32 FW V1.11.0 Firmware-Package (Recommended). I selected the LL-Driver-Type.

I compiled the Project Error-Free and programmed the resulting EVALKIT-ROBOT-1.elf over the STMcubeProgrammer with StLink V3 to the EVALKIT. Verify was OK.

But with this firmware, there was also no Connection in MCWB-Monitor possible.

Questions: The Connetion runs over the RS485 Cable, not over the ST-Link ist hat Correct ?

Whas is going wrong?

10 REPLIES 10
Cristiana SCARAMEL
ST Employee

Hi @ARose.1​ welcome to ST Community.

The EVALKIT-ROBOT-1 use a MODBUS communication protocol through RS-485​.

The MODBUS protocol is not the same of Motor Control Workbench.

You can find more details on communication protocol in the user manual UM2653

ARose.1
Associate II

Thank you for your answer. I recogniced that there are two different protocols. You mentioned the UM2653 manual. But in that manual ist only the MODBUS protocol explained.