cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need an advice

GSerg.1
Associate II

Hi guys. I am new to STM32 MCUs and I need an advice on what couple of kits and compilers and IDEs is better for developing applications for STM32 MCUs that uses TouchGFX.

I thought that STM32CubeIDE is the most straight way to do this, and I tried to begin with STM32CubeIDE 1.3 + TouchGFX 4.1. But when I create my first project in STM32CubeIDE using videos from youtube, my project doesn't wants to build, throwing a lot of errors like "touchgfx::Font - unknown definition..", etc.

I made:

1) Created empty STM32 project in STM32CubeIDE, specifying C++ radiobutton.

2) Under "Additional software" i specified X-CUBE-TOUCHGFX... -> TouchGFX, checking then

a "Graphics" checkbox in .ioc file.

3) I made some settings at X-CUBE-TOUCHGFX.. panel in .ioc file (took on LTDC, Double

buffering, acceleration using DMA2D, etc.).

3) At TouchGFX folder in project tree i modified .part file using TouchGFX, creating primitive

screen with a touch button and generating code in touchGFX designer.

4) I've deleted a "Simulator" folder from TouchGFX folder in project tree.

5) Tried to build..

I did it with my STM32F429ZIT-DISCOVERY board.

Whats wrong and where can i get instructions/examples for TouchGFX for STM32F429 ? I want to build a simple voltmeter using built-in ADC and TouchGFX with my board for a while (for a start).

Thanks a lot.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Alexandre RENOUX
Principal

You go to CubeMX (.ioc is not a CubeIDE file, it's a CubeMX file) and configure the ADC. Then you generate code. Do not forget to generate code also from TouchGFX Designer afterwards.

The ADC is among the different elements on the left of the screen in Analog tab.

0693W000001qKIDQA2.png

/Alexandre

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Alexandre RENOUX
Principal

Hi,