cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to transfer data from the SRAM to the DDR in a kernel module?

MElha.1
Associate II

Hello,

I am working on a project that acquires ADC readings and saves them into a buffer in the M4 side of STM32mp157 chip on DK2 board, now I need to build a kernel module that copies the saved buffer from the SRAM to DDR on the A7 side when a certain interrupt is triggered.

As I am a beginner in embedded linux world I am wondering about the way to do this, I tried memcpy() at first but errors arise when inserting the module (Can't page virtual address error), I also tried converting the SRAM address from physical to virtual before memcpy() but that didn't work as well.

Is there a direct way to copy data between the memories like memcpy() or do I need to use DMA from the kernel module to copy the data, if the DMA is the way, sharing an example would be great.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Olivier GALLIEN
ST Employee

Hi @MElha.1​ 

ST deliver a complete documentation and demo for this use case :

https://wiki.st.com/stm32mpu/wiki/How_to_exchange_large_data_buffers_with_the_coprocessor_-_principle

https://wiki.st.com/stm32mpu/wiki/How_to_exchange_large_data_buffers_with_the_coprocessor_-_example

Hope it help

Olivier

Olivier GALLIEN
In order to give better visibility on the answered topics, please click on 'Accept as Solution' on the reply which solved your issue or answered your question.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Olivier GALLIEN
ST Employee

Hi @MElha.1​ 

ST deliver a complete documentation and demo for this use case :

https://wiki.st.com/stm32mpu/wiki/How_to_exchange_large_data_buffers_with_the_coprocessor_-_principle

https://wiki.st.com/stm32mpu/wiki/How_to_exchange_large_data_buffers_with_the_coprocessor_-_example

Hope it help

Olivier

Olivier GALLIEN