cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VNC/Remote Desktop configuration

La1
Associate III

Hi i want to access remotely my stm32mp157c-dk2 with graphical interface.

I am running openstlinux-20-02-19 from starter package.

I installed tigervnc (apt-get install tigervnc and apt-get install xauth) and start it by typing "vncserver". But when i connect to it (from vncviewer) only terminal shows up, nothing else. I tried to start some desktop session from this terminal by typing (weston / weston-start / dbus-launch weston-start / weston-launch) but nothing works.

I also tried to modify ~/.vnc/xstartup and changed to :

#!/bin/sh

unset SESSION_MANAGER

unset DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS

exec dbus-launch weston-start

But after this change, only black screen shows up : /

I am new to wayland/weston and vnc configuration. I hope somebody with more experience can help me with this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
DenisH
Associate II

Hello,

unfortunately this feature is not supported. You may find a way building a X11-based image without Weston-wayland, but OpenSTLinux targets a lightweight industrial usage more than a PC-oriented usage.

Best regards,

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
DenisH
Associate II

Hello,

can you precise what you want to achieve using VNC? In other words, what requires to be graphical that cannot be done with a ssh connection for example.

Thanks.

La1
Associate III

Hello, of course i can precise 🙂

I have graphical app that is running on stm32mp157c-dk2 (with monitor connected) and i need to remotely help user/operator of this program. If it were Windows, i would just use TeamViewer for this.

DenisH
Associate II

Hello,

unfortunately this feature is not supported. You may find a way building a X11-based image without Weston-wayland, but OpenSTLinux targets a lightweight industrial usage more than a PC-oriented usage.

Best regards,

DBake.6
Associate