cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN Communication using STM32F303KB (Nucleo) and SN65VD230 transceiver (help!)

Satria
Associate

Hi, I am a beginner on STM32. I got assigned into a project where i'll use some MCUs from STM32 family (F103VE, F103CT, F303KB) to build a sensor grabber to get data from OBD-II of a vehicle and some sensor modules (Vibration, BMP280, IMU). My F103VE board has a CAN transmitter built-in, so i don't have to use a discrete module, but my F103CT and F303KB does not.

This is the CubeMX GPIO layout and CAN Settings. I did not utilize Timer because i am still not sure how to do it (if someone has a introduction to timers for CAN, please let me know)

0693W000000TUnVQAW.jpg0693W000000TUnkQAG.jpg

I wish to use the SN65VD230 transceiver to request data from the OBD-II, save the data alongside sensors and transmit them to a PC via USB-to-CAN, but i can't seem to get the CAN communication to work. I connected the Transceiver as-is (without resistors) with

RX->PA11

TX->PA12

When i try to debug it in KEIL, it shows error of cannot initialize CAN.0693W000000TUnQQAW.jpg

I tried searching around, but haven't found a similar problem using the STM32F303 and SN65VD230 hardware. Can someone enlighten me of a solution to this problem and a general usage guide of CANBUS with discrete CAN Transmitter on STM32?

The code for main.c file is attached. Thank you very much in advance.

Cheers,

Satria

3 REPLIES 3
JoniS
Senior

>> I tried searching around, but haven't found a similar problem using the STM32F303 and SN65VD230 hardware <<

Do you have schematic? Have you tried enable internal pullups for can tx/rx pins if the tranceivers is not connected to can network.

Hi, i'm sorry for such a late reply. Thank you for your advice.

My schematic is as following, and i had put together a small PCB to hold the modules together including the transceiver.

0693W000000USQlQAO.png

0693W000000USQqQAO.png