cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing own drivers vs HAL for professional project

CDyer.1
Senior

Hi,

firstly i apologise if this is in the wrong section as I'm asking more for technical advice than an answer for a specific technical question.

First a bit of background:

I'm a PhD student that is the sole engineer on a three year project that includes hardware design and embedded firmware programming. For the embedded side I've elected to use the STM32H7 line for its fast clock speeds and DSP capabilities as I am going to be doing DSP related work further down the line. i have spent the past two months working with STM32F4 and getting to learn the fundamentals as it is a simpler device than the H7. My previous experience in embedded systems was 8 bit PIC as an undergraduate.

Issue: